Impressive educators celebrated at Public Education Awards

Educators devoted to supporting and motivating the state’s children and young people were recognised at the 12th annual South Australian Public Education Awards.

The South Australian Public Education Awards recognise both individuals and teams who demonstrate impact across learner agency, equity and excellence, inclusion, reconciliation and wellbeing.

Bains Road Preschool, one of 11 winners announced at the 2023 Public Education Awards in November last year, was recognised for Inclusive Practices in Education.

The preschool, located in Adelaide’s southern suburbs, prioritises high-quality education for all children, regardless of their abilities. The nurturing environment ensures every child feels valued, respected and supported in their learning journey.

Heathfield High School’s Lindsey Crowe won the Innovation in Teaching and Learning Award. The senior leader was recognised for her efforts to empower students to actively co-create their learning experiences.

“The Public Education Awards shine a spotlight on the incredible work of our people and the vital role they play in supporting children and young people in South Australia to learn and thrive,” said Professor Martin Westwell, Chief Executive, Department for Education.

The awards are all about celebrating excellence, inclusion and the incredible contributions of our educators to ignite a love of learning.

“The awards provide an opportunity to reflect on our achievements and be proud of the work we’ve done across the State from the Riverland to the Far North.”

The winner of each category received $10,000, while finalists for each category were given $2,000 to undertake professional learning or purchase resources for their school community.

All of the winners and finalists can be found on the Department for Education website, along with a video showcasing their achievements.

The 2023 Public Education Awards winners are:

Excellence in Learner Agency

Westbourne Park Primary School

Excellence and Equity in Education, sponsored by Credit Union SA

Cultivating Excellence and Equity, Ungarra Primary School

Innovation in Teaching and Learning Award, sponsored by Lumination

Lindsey Crowe, Heathfield High School

Excellence in Collaborative Partnerships

Aboriginal Education Team, Para Hills High School

Excellence in Leadership

Cherie Collings, The Pines School

Excellence in Support of Early Career Teachers

Berri Portfolio (Riverland) Local ECT Network, Berri Education Office

Inclusive Practices in Education

Bains Road Preschool

Excellence in Collective Wellbeing

Kungka Ninti Program, Fregon Anangu School

Aunty Josie Agius Award

Aboriginal Education Team, Mark Oliphant College

Outstanding Reconciliation Initiatives

Nunga Playgroup, Kirton Point Children’s Centre

Outstanding Safety Initiatives

Jim Dounas, Adelaide High School

For more information:


Follow KIDDO on Instagram and Facebook, and subscribe to our weekly newsletter

You may also like

Discover the University Senior College difference

University Senior College is an independent school for Years 10, 11 and 12, located on the campus of The University of Adelaide. USC is different. Not only are USC students enabled to achieve their best academic results, they are well prepared for university and life beyond school.

Read More